Friday, 1 June 2018

♣ Asian Universities Chess Championships 2018

The Asian Universities Chess Championships 2018 was held in Tagaytay City, Philippines from May 26 to June 2.

Eight countries including our Southeast Asian countries participated at this continental championships.These countries were Japan, China, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Indonesia, Malaysia and host Philippines.
Four categories were being contested at the 6-day tournament. These were Men’s Individual Event, Women’s Individual Event, Men’s Team Event  and Women’s Team Event.

Indonesia's FM Yoseph Theolifus Taher emerged as champion in the men's event collecting 7 points after 9 rounds.

He was followed by China's IM Yi Xu with 6.5 points to place second while another Indonesian IM Muhammad Lutfi Ali also got similar points to land 3rd overall.

Philippine bet Istraelito Rilloraza just placed 5th with 6 points over 42 competitors in the men's event.

In men's team event, it was an Indonesian team from Gunadarma University who clinched the title outclassing the Shanghai University of Finance & Economics (China) who placed second. While Far Eastern University (Philippines) finished 3rd overall.

Team Philippines placed 4th while Team Malaysia finished 5th place.

In the women's event, it was 1-2-3 finished for China while the best finisher for Southeast Asia was Bernadette Galas of the Philippines with 6 points.

China (Shanghai University of Finance & Economics) also took the first place and second place (Capital Univ of PE & Sports) of the women's team event while Team Philippines took the 3rd spot. 
Team Malaysia on the other hand placed 5th overall.
For complete results, visit:

No comments:

Post a Comment